Poet: David Wainland

Standard

David Wainland lives in South Florida, but was born and raised in the Bronx. He is a part-time published writer and fully retired. His was a professional artist and welded metal for over thirty years. David is working on a novel and posts his writings on his Gather profile.

 

A LEGACY OF BLANK PAGES 

 

© 2011 BY David Wainland

 

Originaly titled My Legacy   

 © 2009

 

I leave the pages blank

for you to fill my son

In trust to you my words

Now my work is done

~

When I was ten

and not before

My father knocked

upon my door

~

In his hand

he held for me

A dog-eared book

of poetry

~

The spine was weak

the jacket rent

Most pages had

their corners bent

~

Read these my son

and you will learn

Free men read books

that others burn

~

When I was twelve

and not before

My father knocked

upon my door

~

Then turned a leaf

that caught my sight

Kipling wrote of

men that fight

~

Poe told tales

filled with gloom

Barrett’s love

entranced the room

~

Longfellow’s rhymes

captured dreams

While Alfred Noyse

sought moonlight beams

~

The Highwayman

and Gunga Din

The Raven knows

where I have been

~

My father always

did me proud

He often read

these poems aloud

~

If not for him

I know not when

My words would fall

from out my pen

~

He set my stride

upon the trail

Twas not for him

these rhymes would fail

~

When I was fifty

and not before

He rapped again

upon my door

~

The books are yours

my life is through

This my son

I leave for you

~

Eternal lies

my father now

This poem fulfils

a silent vow

~

When they were ten

and not before

My children heard me

at their door

 

Daily Response: For this week, the response will stay the same. In the comment section, please leave a message for the poet.

11 responses »

  1. Passing on poetry from one generation to another will keep the Art living in the hearts and minds more years than we can imagine. I applaud this poet for leaving more than a great human legacy.

  2. Kimberly, Thank you for posting this. through your blog, Gather and many other outlets, my father’s legacy will live on as it does in the hearts and minds of my granchildren.

    Regards,

    David Winland

  3. What a beautiful poignant poem to reflect upon, David. Your children are blessed, as were you !!

    I don’t know what my legacy will be…maybe my prayers for them and with them, every day of their lives.

  4. david wainland boca raton gather artist writer your talking about my grand father my name is skylar wainland wow oh the is one he told me his grand daughter a poem here it is
    if only i had an invisability hood

Leave a Reply

